Item Reviews for: ITW Alpine DC Kite  -  3852
    ITW Alpine DC Kite
    Excellent flyer and great colors!
    By: Raul lopez      Submitted: 12/28/2016



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    verified
    Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? This kite is beautiful and can be intimidating at first due to its huge size, but is a colorful gentle giant easy to fly especially in light wind , it does tend to overfly but this can be fixed by adding tails / laundry to it .!it's truly beautiful in the air ! Only complaint is probably due to its big size , is that the carbon fiber crossmember is fragile and can brake if you have a hard landing ! Mine broke the third time I flew it , will call customer service and see how that goes , stay tune !
    In a previous review
    By: mulder@frontiernet.net      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? This is what a D.C. should be. Flys high and steady as a rock. Silas himself would love to fly this one. ** 5 BIG STARS ** on this one. Richard Hawthorne : ) Mexia Texas What is your opinion of this product? This kite can fly in very light wind. When up in the air, this kite provides very stable anchor in the sky. I have used this kite for KAP and had good results. One problem is that this kite tend to overfly, so I recommend to purchase a fuzzy tail to prevent it. \
    Having had really good
    By: mulder@frontiernet.net      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? This kite can fly in very light wind. When up in the air, this kite provides very stable anchor in the sky. I have used this kite for KAP and had good results. One problem is that this kite tend to overfly, so I recommend to purchase a fuzzy tail to prevent it. \ What is your opinion of this product? This is what a D.C. should be. Flys high and steady as a rock. Silas himself would love to fly this one. ** 5 BIG STARS ** on this one. Richard Hawthorne : ) Mexia Texas
    I recently flew this kite
    By: wdb777      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? I recently flew this kite in a clear blue sky with a couple of Rainbow Transition Tails in a light wind. The Alpine looked fantastic and attracted a lot of attention from passing drivers on a nearby highway who beeped and waved. As was previously mentioned, the kite does overfly in light winds without the tails but with the Transition Tails it is nicely balanced. In a stronger winds I've found the kite will fly at a high angle without overflying even without the tails. I avoid flying the Alpine in really strong winds as I broke the cross spar when I put it up too high where the winds were quite vicious. Fortunately ITW replaced it very reasonably. Overall, the Alpine is a real winner and one of my favourites. What is your opinion of this product? As a Certified AKA Kite Pilot my long term goal is to fly every kite within ITW's arsenal.....so many great kites....too little time...For the deep sky SLKer you've got to add this ITW Alpine DC to your flight rotation.......This BIG kite launches easily...nice steady climbs........hugs the clouds....and sticks there......The bright colors compliment the backdrop of the sky.........ITW has a winner with this DC!!!!!
    As a Certified AKA Kite Pilot
    By: dlc59      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? I absolutely love this kite! It takes off effortlessly, climbs quickly, and will nail itself firmly in place in the sky! As others have mentioned, it did tend to over-fly, even when dragging 2 tube tails and 2 ribbons tails; however, simply adjusting the position of the pigtail on the bridle easily fixed that. I've flown the Alpine DC in winds ranging from 5-20+, and it's handled them all without concern. \ \ I was looking to replace my PowerSled 36 as my primary KAP/KAV kite (plenty of lifting power, horribly unsteady), and eventually narrowed my choice down to the Alpine DC... I have ZERO regrets with my decision! I've carried aloft my Powershot A630 digital camera, and was so confident in the kite's lifting ability and stability that I also threw up my JVC Everio camcorder (not at the same time), and was thrilled all around with the results! To be clear, I should point out that the winds were at least 10mph when I've sent up my cameras, so it might not be the best choice for a light wind lifter. But seeing as how 10mph+ winds are commonplace around here, I just can't praise the Alpine DC enough! \ \ P.S. - Here's a video of the kite in action: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ERFJLqIu5OE
    The other day
    By: wdb777      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? I recently flew this kite in a clear blue sky with a couple of Rainbow Transition Tails in a light wind. The Alpine looked fantastic and attracted a lot of attention from passing drivers on a nearby highway who beeped and waved. As was previously mentioned, the kite does overfly in light winds without the tails but with the Transition Tails it is nicely balanced. In a stronger winds I've found the kite will fly at a high angle without overflying even without the tails. I avoid flying the Alpine in really strong winds as I broke the cross spar when I put it up too high where the winds were quite vicious. Fortunately ITW replaced it very reasonably. Overall, the Alpine is a real winner and one of my favourites. What is your opinion of this product? As a Certified AKA Kite Pilot my long term goal is to fly every kite within ITW's arsenal.....so many great kites....too little time...For the deep sky SLKer you've got to add this ITW Alpine DC to your flight rotation.......This BIG kite launches easily...nice steady climbs........hugs the clouds....and sticks there......The bright colors compliment the backdrop of the sky.........ITW has a winner with this DC!!!!!
    Why not a perfect ten
    By: dougonfly52      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? I changed the carbon to lighter, stronger carbon. The rod were 18 grams. I made them 10 grms. A total of 24 grams. Lighter and stronger. Sky Shark Carbon. I run it up with 150 lb. line and it drops to the ground and stays up by herself. I am like you guys. I love her. She was born to Fly. Didn't have to teach her a thing. Great to fly with ball-bearing winder. No wind No Problem. I really like when she takes off. She can hold her weight with the big boys also. Line laundry or spinners I shown her off everywhere. I am just another kite flyer but I really like giving people good advise and learning from others. Buy This Kite !!! You'll be writing next.
    Everything said about this kite being great in low wind is true
    By: JPB      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstardullstardullstardullstar


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? Excellent flyer, It was ready to take off before I had the line attached. Great kite for a very reasonable price. The materials are very high quality.
    First flight today with my new Alpine
    By: apollomaker      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? The other day I flew the Alpine in very light winds at the bottom of the range. I got the kite into the air with a few pull-ups. After it gained some height it flew at a fairly low angle because the wind was so light. However, I was able to get it up close to 1000 ft. where it flew almost directly overhead without overflying. When the wind completely dropped the Alpine remained very steady and I was able to bring it in without any problems - the kite just sat in the sky as I brought in the line.
    This kite can fly in very light wind
    By: unoji      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? Why not a "perfect ten" rating system? This kite would win no problem. On a kite fly with iffy winds my Alpine was always the last one down, flying itself back up at least twice. Today when it was time to take down in very light wind it flew all the way down to my hand. You guys have done it again!
    I changed the carbon to lighter
    By: kitesman      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? First flight today with my new Alpine. I live in an area notorious for marginal and gusty winds. My wind meter showed about 4 MPH with gusts to 5 MPH. I was skeptical but once I had the Alpine assembled, it wanted to fly. I hand launched it and up it went pulling as much 150 lb dacron that it wanted. \ \ I stopped it at about 250 feet and let it feel the winds up and away from the surrounding trees and hillsides. Amazing handling of low winds -- it would just float for a bit and then another gusty breeze would take it back up to straight overhead. All the YouTube vids I watched of this kite in flight were right on. Very smooth. I must say the kite is very well made and stows away nicely -- much easier than other types. \ \ If you are looking for a first class skyhook and suffer from low winds as I do at times, this is the one for you. I also bought the Rocky Mountain too for higher wind conditions which I have at other flying sites. A great flyer. \
    I absolutely love this kite
    By: fnffishcore      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? I love this kite. I always want to fly it! It will fly every day I want it to.
    Wow what a sweet kite
    By: craig.abel      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? This kite is superb. It may at first take a few tries to find a happy medium for the bridle position (the bridle is adjustable) but once you find one that gives you flight characteristics that are to your taste, it will be fantastic. My favorite is the position where it's lined up with the cross spar. Using that position, it lifted a Canon PowerShot SD750 hundreds of feet into the air like it was nothing. \ \ During that flight, I noticed that when it encountered stronger wind at higher altitude, its frame bowed a bit, but generally stayed in a safe and stable shape. In its flight, it didn't show any hints of getting ready to take a dive. This is good design. \ \ One really minor and amusing idiosyncracy of this kite is that it may sometimes tip forward a bit and (harmlessly) glide beyond the zenith. I've owned a big black delta conyne (also made by ITW) for over 12 years, and have flown it in every manner of wind, so I am well-acquainted with how DC's behave (and I have seen this behavior before). \ \ Get a delta conyne and it won't let you down. It doesn't have to be this one... But this one happens to be very good.
    This kite is superb
    By: DmitrifromCali      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? Wow what a sweet kite! just got it out of the box and took it out for a spin. absolutely no adjustments required. had a good steady 5 mph wind held it up and she took off with no other effort. at 500 ft it was great to watch. it was solid as a rock the whole way out to the end of my 500' spool. \ I'm new to this sport but have had nothing but great results from ITW's products. \ Got to go now to figure what i need to buy next from them. \ \ CEA
    I love this kite
    By: aiden      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? Everything said about this kite being great in low wind is true, However, In a strong wind -- or even a gust, the spreader spar breaks very easily. Definitely do not recommend using this for KAP unless you replace the spreader with something stronger. I've dropped my camera with this kite -- I see it has also happened to others: http://www.arch.ced.berkeley.edu/kap/discuss/index.php?p=/discussion/2636/10ft-dcs-descend-rather-slowly-with-a-snapped-spreader-spar-/p1
    This is what a D
    By: Hawthorne      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? Having had really good flying experiences flying the ITW Stratosphere Double DC Kite I selected the Alpine DC Kite for light wind flying. After Flying this kite here are my experiences. The Alpine DC does fly in much lighter winds than the Double DC but it had a tendency to pull to the left. I checked it by weighting the left and right spars (they were the same) and then hanging it on from its bridle, and it was dead level. The kite was then returned for another Alpine DC. This one flew more straight but also had a heavy left wing. Into The Wind then suggest I try the Levitation Delta Light Kite. This kite flies in the same low winds as the Alpine DC but flew straight and seemed more stable. I liked the Alpine DC colors and looks, but the Levitation Delta Light is a better flying kite. All the flying was done in the Arizona White mountains (near Flagstaff) at a base elevation of 6600ft with surface winds averaging 10mph over a 10min period.
    Excellent flyer
    By: noblekites      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? In a previous review I indicated that I really liked the Alpine DC colors and shape but had problems with it flying straight in the White mountains of Arizona. I took a chance and ordered another Alpine to fly at the coast in Baja Mexico. I now have flown the kite twice here and it handled perfectly from ground level up to 2200ft on a 3000ft 100lb Spectra line with 5-8 knot average surface winds. This leads me to conclude that the Levitation light does better than the Alpine DC in non uniform winds found in the mountains but at the coast the Alpine DC flies better.
    Loading....