Item Reviews for: ITW Parafoil 5 Kite  -  5152
    ITW Parafoil 5 Kite
    I've only had one other
    By: Kiteman78      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?

    Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? I've only had one other parafoil besides this one and if there is anybody out there who is looking to buy a parafoil you got buy this one.
    Got this kite because
    By: Beginner      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? A nice little kite, which flies easily, albeit at a fairly low angle, and looks attractive against a blue sky. I have added tail loops at each side, which I think is an improvement on the single loop fitted in the centre. But "the best parafoil in the sky?" I would think that title goes to the Sutton Flowforms, of which ITW has sizes to suit everyone. And for a small parafoil that makes a big impact, I would go for the Prism Stowaway with its 20ft banner tail, which ITW also sells for only $29. Nevertheless, this kite will please a lot of people and offers good value for money. It has the usual high-quality ITW case.
    A pretty-little kite that would be good for a kid at the beach
    By: cepphus      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstardullstardullstardullstar


    0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? Very good kite! Flies wonderful! Recommended!
    Have had this kite for almost 10 years
    By: wyoming      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? A pretty-little kite that would be good for a kid at the beach. But, in heavier winds this kite flew consistently on its side; never gained any height; and eventually flew straight into the ground. It is smaller than expected and not at all suitable for KAP.
    Three or four years ago
    By: jim@next.gen.nz      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? My go-to kite. Well mannered and docile, it can be coaxed to do a trick or two. Good climber as well. Waiting for the larger parafoils to come back in stock but this is a good runner up. What is your opinion of this product? Got this kite because I needed one that I could carry in my suitcase without broken rigid pieces. Flew it at the beach all day, every day for 8 days. What a great little flier. It flew out over the water or back toward the shore so nicely. My wife and I would take it for long walks up and own the beach with all 200' of line out. We sure got our money's worth out of it. Packs down to a little square in its carrying pouch. Really fun.
    A nice little kite
    By: jim@next.gen.nz      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? Got this kite because I needed one that I could carry in my suitcase without broken rigid pieces. Flew it at the beach all day, every day for 8 days. What a great little flier. It flew out over the water or back toward the shore so nicely. My wife and I would take it for long walks up and own the beach with all 200' of line out. We sure got our money's worth out of it. Packs down to a little square in its carrying pouch. Really fun. What is your opinion of this product? My go-to kite. Well mannered and docile, it can be coaxed to do a trick or two. Good climber as well. Waiting for the larger parafoils to come back in stock but this is a good runner up.
    Very good kite
    By: aiden      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? Have had this kite for almost 10 years, fly's anywhere anytime no running to get it going just hold it up and hold on.
    My go-to kite
    By: nemo@bresnan.net      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? Three or four years ago, I wrote a review of this kite in which I said it was OK. Now I've decided it is great! The reason for this is the crazy weather we have been having in New Zealand's so-called summer. Many days I have been unable to fly anything because of very strong, gusty winds. I no longer have that problem, because I have found the Parafoil 5 will fly when nothing else will. To achieve this, I did two things: first, I took the 20ft tube tail which I normally have attached to this kite, made sure the end of the tail was tied tightly, and inserted a large handful of sand in the tube. I have found with other kites, this can act as a great stabiliser in extreme conditions, behaving almost as a pendulum. Second, I replaced the normal line with much heavier line (240lb on one occasion, 300lb on another.) This line achieves three things: it gives peace of mind that it will not break, it makes it much easier to handle, and it provides extra drag on the kite. The result of this is that I can now fly, and have done several times, in winds gusting wildly between 30 to 70 kph (around 20 to well over 40 mph) and have great fun on days when I would normally not venture out. Whatever the stresses on it, the Parafoil 5 has stood up brilliantly to this, and seems bullet-proof. It has not once stopped flying, and only came close one time when a sudden lull in the wind meant that the weight of the tail was too much for it. For such an inexpensive kite, this is an amazing performer, and although I don't fly it often in "normal" weather, in winds like this it is now my number one (and only) choice. Should it eventually fail, the cost of replacing it will be minor in comparison to the great deal of fun to be had from it on stormy days when the alternative is no flying.
    Loading....