Item Reviews for: ITW George Peters Sky Bird Kite  -  5656
    ITW George Peters Sky Bird Kite
    Great flying kite!
    By: Jeff Woolfolk from Snellville, GA USA      Submitted: 6/5/2017



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?
    verified
    Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? This is my first large "display" kite. I fly it with a 48' tail, and it is extremely stable and easy to fly. The colors and pattern look great against a blue sky. Its size and pull need some experience to handle. I was surprised how much pull it took to bring the kite down. Overall Sky Bird is a beautiful looking and flying kite.
    Terrific kite- looks great in the sky!
    By: Jim from Tampa, FL      Submitted: 3/5/2017



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?
    verified
    What is your opinion of this product? Flew this kite for the first time today (bought it last year) in gusty 7-15 mph winds, and was duly impressed with how easy it was to assemble, launch, and fly in those conditions. Mine is the Black & White model (I now have the Aloha colored on order too), and it REALLY 'Pops' against the blue Tampa sky. I can't wait to take it to the beach. In the gusty winds, this 'Bird' soared high and a bit back and forth too. It is a real eye catcher and different from all the rainbow colored kites today. It is very well made. Definitely worth the price, and one I can't wait to fly again.
    I went with the B/W version
    By: 13john      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? I went with the B/W version in hopes to increase the long distance view ability and have been rewarded with a spectacular presentation. My Sky Bird can be seen for at least 3 miles in rolling pasture land. It is a dream to fly. Yeah, it has a great deal of pull, but a well set fence and post seem to hold. It has so much presence as to take over the show of my other 10' to 12' DDC running 96', 48', 24' and 12' matching tails. It is not a complicated or tricky kite, but it has that "something" a fancier of large kites can't leave alone and must have. Bottom line: If you like 'em big you need a Sky Bird! PS Can not wait for George Peters Pterosaur Kite it looks to have the same pizazz.
    I can't wait for the weather
    By: FTLOSM      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? Just to update my previous review, I have now had the opportunity to fly the Aloha and black-and-white versions together several times. Reaction from spectators has been great and, perhaps surprisingly, the majority say that they prefer the black-and-white one. It is my preference, too, so don't be afraid of its lack of color - it stands out really well against all the other kites in the sky with their rainbow colors. Best, of course, is to have both! What is your opinion of this product? I splurged and bought this for myself recently, and let me say I am SO happy I did.... I really enjoyed flying my Aloha Sky Bird for the first time, this is my first large kite and I wasn't sure what to expect, I didn't have much wind 6-8mph), but it went up with ease and soon after I was just enjoying flying this massive beautiful colorful graceful Aloha Sky Bird. I was on the fence between the cloud bird and sky bird, I am glad I went with the larger version, this is an INSTANT hit at our community field/park with everyone in a mile radius coming over to see it.
    So I've had this kite
    By: Jack-o-Kite      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? The Sky Bird looks fantastic, obviously, but its best feature is that it flies so well. It assembles quite easily for a kite of this type, and takes to the air as if it were the real thing. It needs very little wind, but is also happy in stronger breezes. I fly it usually with two 55ft matching fuzzy tails, and it almost takes up the whole sky. \ \ I bought the black and white version from ITW, and I love it so much that, when I saw a shop-soiled Aloha version on offer at a real bargain price from another kite-dealer, I couldn't resist getting that too! \ \ If I could give this more than five stars, I would.
    I splurged and bought this for myself recently
    By: FTLOSM      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? Just to update my previous review, I have now had the opportunity to fly the Aloha and black-and-white versions together several times. Reaction from spectators has been great and, perhaps surprisingly, the majority say that they prefer the black-and-white one. It is my preference, too, so don't be afraid of its lack of color - it stands out really well against all the other kites in the sky with their rainbow colors. Best, of course, is to have both! What is your opinion of this product? I splurged and bought this for myself recently, and let me say I am SO happy I did.... I really enjoyed flying my Aloha Sky Bird for the first time, this is my first large kite and I wasn't sure what to expect, I didn't have much wind 6-8mph), but it went up with ease and soon after I was just enjoying flying this massive beautiful colorful graceful Aloha Sky Bird. I was on the fence between the cloud bird and sky bird, I am glad I went with the larger version, this is an INSTANT hit at our community field/park with everyone in a mile radius coming over to see it.
    Just to update my previous review
    By: jim@next.gen.nz      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? I can't wait for the weather to break here in Michigan so I can go fly my skybird again! Absolutely my favorite kite. Here is a video of my first flight http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xyvuXtCN8CU. What is your opinion of this product? I own both skybirds.. awesome kites.. i fly them 1500'.. i use a 7' spinning wind sock for aloha for a tail and the white n black i use 2-6 24' white n black tube tails depending on wind speed. they are very stable to fly very high with enough tail.. i use a modified 10\ reel with plywood sideboards to hold 2000' of 300lb test line that works great. these are the kites i fly in high winds up to 15mph.. into the wind folks are great and take their advice on line and recomendations... my youtube ch is .. tvabiker.. to see high flying videos."
    The Sky Bird looks fantastic
    By: jim@next.gen.nz      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? I own both skybirds.. awesome kites.. i fly them 1500'.. i use a 7' spinning wind sock for aloha for a tail and the white n black i use 2-6 24' white n black tube tails depending on wind speed. they are very stable to fly very high with enough tail.. i use a modified 10\ reel with plywood sideboards to hold 2000' of 300lb test line that works great. these are the kites i fly in high winds up to 15mph.. into the wind folks are great and take their advice on line and recomendations... my youtube ch is .. tvabiker.. to see high flying videos." What is your opinion of this product? I can't wait for the weather to break here in Michigan so I can go fly my skybird again! Absolutely my favorite kite. Here is a video of my first flight http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xyvuXtCN8CU.
    Love love love this kite
    By: nicksgarage      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? Love love love this kite! Got the black & white version last week and what a fantastic kite it is. Flew it in light and medium winds and it was rock steady. Added some 60 foot fuzzy tails for even more show and it handled them with ease. Thanks to Jim Nicholls in NZ for the inspiration.
    I own both skybirds
    By: tvabiker      Submitted: 11/1/2015



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?

    What is your opinion of this product? So I've had this kite now for several months and have flown it under varying conditions. I'm a newbie but this kite just launches and is stable in flight. For a big kite it is quite manageable in stronger winds compared to other kites of similar size. Whenever I fly it I get comments about it from a variety of people. In my opinion also it looks great in the sky all by itself. That said on one occasion it lifted 2 8' tube spinners and 2 4' bowl spinners with no problems. So to summarize I love this kite. No matter how good looking a kite is you got to get it into the air and keep it there. This kite just flies and looks good. You won't be disappointed.
    People who rated this item, also rated...
    Loading....