Item Reviews for: ITW Rocky Mountain DC Kite  -  3850
ITW Rocky Mountain DC Kite
Best single line kite you can buy
By: HM      Submitted: 6/14/2018



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?
verified
Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? I have never seen a kite fly in such light winds. Took it out yesterday wind was so light it was about 2-3 mph with gust of 5-7 mph. I was in afield about the size of a football field surrounded by trees. Took a small gust about 30 seconds to get it higher than the trees and into light and variable winds and it went quickly over 200 ft. Flew for about 30 min before the wind went completely calm. This kite still wanted to fly. It floated with a smooth glide easily giving time to hand over hand the kite line and get the kite safely back to the field. GREAT KITE!!
Excellent kite!!!
By: Kim Stewart from Kingman, Az      Submitted: 4/27/2018



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?
verified
What is your opinion of this product? I have had a version of this kite for 30ish years now. Still flying it. Repaired dowels once, but flew it in 30 mile winds, and it moved me off the ground. Takes off in low winds on first try. Excellent worth every penny!!!
Wow! Really exceptional!
By: Dwight Brown from Del Rio, TX, USA      Submitted: 4/17/2018



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
verified
What is your opinion of this product? I was very impressed with my first flight with this kite. I was hoping for something that could lift some small instruments or a camera. This has got to be a great answer. I flew it in a variable 13 MPH wind here in South Texas and it did not disappoint. The kite is very well built and the case it comes in is very nice. It was quite easy to put together, but I would watch the video to get the whole routine down, it will only take a minute. The kite launched right out of my hand and gobbled up 1000 feet of line and asked for more. It pulls quite hard and flies at a very high angle, I would estimate that it get close to within 5 or 10 degrees of straight overhead. The flight is very stable and there was absolutely no dodging or looping in gusts. I think this kite should make a great camera platform. It sure was a work out reeling it in!
WOW!
By: David Cigler from Green Bay, WI., cigler.j4030@sbcglobal.net      Submitted: 9/5/2017



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? Flew this kite for the first time at a Labor Day kite festival. Went up on the first try right out of the package. It flew almost vertically in a breeze of about 8-10. A joy to fly and really beautiful! I drew quite a crowd as I was one of the first in the air and definitely had the most altitude. An excellent kite.
What a Joy!
By: Dave from East Aurora, NY, USA      Submitted: 7/10/2017



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?
verified
What is your opinion of this product? This kite flies in the lightest of winds and is really a joy to fly. As someone else noted, in higher winds it can tug quite a bit. It flies stable and true and is a reliable flyer for even the most novice of beginners.
Run up the laundry!
By: Kevin      Submitted: 4/8/2017



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
verified
What is your opinion of this product? When I read this kite could really pull I thought sure, what ever. But it REALLY DOES. I have the Windbreaker Reel and you will need it. I had this kite up at 500 feet and at times with a 18mph wind and it took some effort to bring it down. I wouldn't want to use a hoop to bring this down in a strong wind. It was very easy to launch and climbed very well, with 24 foot tails on each tip and two 48 foot tails in the center it flew very stable.
After a lot of searching for a kite
By: nicksgarage      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? I flew one of these 3,000 feet in my own front yard! Jim, St. Louis What is your opinion of this product? It only took one flight for the Rocky Mountain DC to become my favorite kite. Ditto for my wife. It looks absolutely beautiful in flight - pictures don't do it justice. Rock steady, it hauls line laundry effortlessly and soars at a very high angle when the wind blows. You'll need to hold on tight, though. As my wife says, "this kite's a tugger!"
I love my ITW DC kites
By: nicksgarage      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? I flew one of these 3,000 feet in my own front yard! Jim, St. Louis What is your opinion of this product? It only took one flight for the Rocky Mountain DC to become my favorite kite. Ditto for my wife. It looks absolutely beautiful in flight - pictures don't do it justice. Rock steady, it hauls line laundry effortlessly and soars at a very high angle when the wind blows. You'll need to hold on tight, though. As my wife says, "this kite's a tugger!"
This is my first kite
By: kite29      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? Great kite to learn about launching, staking and hoisting tails and laundry. This kite held up two BIG 50ft tube tails on the inner tail attachment points at the beach all day on 200# line. The wingtip attachment points were too flexible to hang on to those tails, but the inner ones worked great and it was a beautiful display.
This is by far the best
By: cepphus      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? This is an excellent all round kite. It will launch easily and fly at 5 mph - I know this because I've flown it numerous times at this speed which I confirmed with the nearby government weather station. At higher speeds it's an excellent lifter having carried various combinations of Ribbon Tails and Cloud Kids. It is very stable and descends gently when the wind drops allowing plenty of time to pull in the line. In strong winds it generates a pretty good pull so you might want to consider a winder like the Windbreaker which has worked well for me. One thing I've noticed is that the thread on one of the sleeves by the wingtip broke causing part of the sleeve to separate. However the fabric did not rip and was easily sown back. I believed this was caused by flying the kite in wind above the upper limit of 25 mph when you could hear the sail flapping loudly. So it's best to stay within the wind range. Overall it's been a very satisfying kite and looks great in the sky.
It only took one flight
By: Tim Peters      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? This kite fly's right over head and very smooth. Josh
I'm 50 years old and haven't flown a kite for over 35 years
By: ocheltree123      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? The Rocky Mountain DC is an exceptional performer....line laundry resigns to the fact it will be hauled up. up and away with this kite....The graphics are really neat aganist the backdrop of a blue sky....This kite is a joy to fly for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!
i took the rockymountain DC out for it's first flight today
By: greenhat      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? After a lot of searching for a kite that could fly in low winds I settled on the Rocky Mountain DC because of the beautiful styling and the reviews of other flyers. Flew it today for the first time and with very little wind, I was up and flying in no time. Without a tail it flew right over head. When I added the 20 foot tube tail it flew lower which I preferred. Got it up with a 48 foot transition tail as well but the wind just wouldn't hold out. Going to really enjoy this one.
The Rocky Mountain DC is one of my all-around favorite kites
By: BeachFlyer      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? Finally, a warm day in Chicago to fly a kite. This DC does exacly as promised. It takes off nicely and climbs quickly. Wonderful colors which look great in the sky. As mentioned, it does have some pull, so be warned. \ \ This is one of the best kites I have flown. My only regret, besides not finding this one sooner is that it needs a loop to attach a single tail in the center. There are 4 loops for attachments, but none in the center. Still a great kite!!!
The Rocky Mountain DC is an exceptional performer
By: dlc59      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? Kite arrived this morning. Beautiful day, but no wind. Took it out, sat it upright on the ground, walked back and pulled it into the air. Up it went, found a slight breeze, and sat there rock-solid and looking beautiful. Another great kite from ITW!
This kite fly's right over head and very smooth
By: Kiteman78      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? This is an all around great single line kite. It flies right out of my hand, it's super stable and has enough lift to pull up almost anything I have. It flew great with a 96' transition tail and the colors are candy for my eyes. It flies in the slightest breeze and seems to handle the gusts that hit it when flying high. This is my first DC kite so the design struck me as super simple but the construction is first rate. I can tell this kite will last.
This is an all around great single line kite
By: gerrytompkins      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? I'm 50 years old and haven't flown a kite for over 35 years. This is a great kite . First time out I got it stuck in a tree and just had to pull it out with a lot of force. Came out with no damage whatsoever. Flies great and has a hell of a lot of pull in a decent wind. You'll get a real workout if reeling by hand on a hoop. \ Flies easily and steady. Great value !!
I recently purchased the Rocky Mountain DC
By: myrashultz@yahoo.com      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? One word - superb. With 30years of kiting experience I'm tough to impress with commercial kites, and the Alpine DC is easily one of the most stable and best flying larger Deltas I've ever used. Even here in Michigan with nasty and variable inland winds the Alpine DC is easy and predictable to fly. In 4-8mph winds on 50lb line the kite bolts itself in the sky at about 75degrees and doesn't budge for hours. As a word of caution if the winds get up to 10mph or over it can be too much to handle for kids and will generate impressive lift for a DC. Only slight negative is the light - pastel color scheme is boring and there's no need for all that extra patchwork on the sail. A simple blue on black or red on black will look better in the sky and save a few dollars on production cost.
This is the first DC I have ever flown
By: lovetofly      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? This is the first DC I have ever flown, and I 'm glad I started out with the "Rocky Mountain" --- this is one great kite! I was able to launch and recover right out of my hand. It consistently flew at a very high angle in light to moderate winds -- very steady. After the maiden flight I noticed that the stitching on one of the pockets holding the main cross spar had come undone -- not a good sign. I thought, "O great, what a piece of junk!" I packed it up and sent it back to ITW. True to their guarantee, they repaired the kite and returned it to me at no charge. With service like that, I plan to come back for more! -- Preston in Virginia
Great kite to learn about launching
By: peetee32      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? This is my first kite after getting back to kites after more years than I want to count. This kite is awsome, no surprises it just took off and kept going till I ran out of line (1000' ) and just stuck to the sky. I fly at the beach here in So. Ca. in wind from about 5mph up to about 20mph,even in the higher wind range this thing just stays put even without tails. Love it.
This is an excellent all round kite
By: wdb777      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? This is by far the best of the many kites I own; and so I recommend it highly. However, the fibreglass cross strut snapped in 15mph winds on its 3rd flight. I made a much better replacement rather than bothering with warranty claims.
Kite arrived this morning
By: jim@next.gen.nz      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? i took the rockymountain DC out for it's first flight today. winds were 25 knts+ , took off like a rocket but remained stable and straight. even with the 7in plastic spool i needed gloves! i think i'll buy some 200lb line in the future, this thing pulls hard in heavy wind and i was afraid the line or the kite would give but everything held very nicely. easy to fly and beautiful to see.
I flew one of these 3
By: jimwants2      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? I love my ITW DC kites and just added a set of 3 of the new Dawn Rocky Mountains to fly in a stack. Beautiful colors in the sky and already getting lots of positive comments. Flying in a stack is tricky but I'm sure I'll get it down.
One word - superb
By: Wseaton      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? The Rocky Mountain DC is one of my all-around favorite kites. It is built extremely well and flies in a wide range of wind conditions. I always take this one with me when I go flying. It's fun to add a tail or two, or even some line laundry. This is my second purchase from Into The Wind and they've both been top-notch products.
Finally
By: pvick1      Submitted: 11/1/2015



Product Rating
brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


Was this review helpful?

What is your opinion of this product? I recently purchased the Rocky Mountain DC. All I can say is WOW!!! Words are wasted here. Buy one and see what I am talking about. ITW now has a loyal customer here in Southern Indiana. Excitedly Yours, Chris Schultz
People who rated this item, also rated...